Sights To Be Seen

This weekend was a little different for me schedule wise… I had to go in to the studios on Sunday for an open house of the Semperoper. Because of this, we were given Monday off. It was so nice to walk outside on my day off and have stores to wander through and people all around me on the street to observe. What a privilege. I think I spent at least 3 hours people watching. That wasn’t the only activity I spent my day doing but it certainly was the most entertaining.

Dresdeners really have some interesting fashion. I really can’t smush it all into one generic style. In fact, I think the way I can successfully generalize Dresden fashion is to say there is no fashion at all. Yeah, that sounds about right. I will just let you feast your eyes on a few examples so you can truly understand.

After I had had enough with creeping on innocent people Hannah and I wandered into a part of Alstadt we had not yet been.  We walked a block off the main street and we welcomed by a large courtyard. On the opposite side of the cobblestone expanse stood the Frauenkirche, a gorgeous church that has graced the Dresden skyline over 2 centuries before it completely collapsed two days after the 1945 bombing and was left a pile of rubble. After Germany reunified, the public pushed to rebuild the structure and in 2005 a spitting image of the original was completed. A few pieces of the original building were salvaged and used in the rebuilding and are easy to spot due to their much darker (burnt) color.

The inside of the church was pristine. I could not help but gasp at it’s beauty when I first entered the church. Honestly. I made noise. The whole inside was white with many gold accents. The paint colors used were soft hues of pink, blue, and yellow giving it the impression of a baby’s room (and all of the innocent thoughts that go along with babies).

Not even 5 minutes after we entered a man walked up to the podium and began speaking. We had no idea what he was saying of course but everyone else inside the church began filing into the pews and sitting down to listen. Oops! Time to go. We quietly made our way out and continued wandering the streets. We walked down a small street lined with restaurants catered to tourist (the courtyard had several hotels and also many touristy restaurants), climbed a small flight of stairs and found ourselves in front of another old gorgeous building facing a beautiful view of the Elbe River and Neustadt. Wandering to our right we found a small garden nestled along the river that we strolled through. Once we circled the garden it was time to head back home. Laundry had to be done and point shoes had to be sewn. Plus we were plum tuckered out. Too many beautiful buildings (and oddly dressed people) for one day. Phew!

2 responses

  1. This makes one want to go to Dresden! Great experiences Casey! As for the “fashions” so called – the Dresderers look like Americans from the mid-West. But why not? The major US immigrant population group in the 19th century was from Germany. A little hefty, eh?

Let me know what you think.

