Astonishments and Observations

As I type this I am sitting on my awfully long 7-hour flight from Frankfurt to Boston. I’ve only been in the air for a little over an hour and I am already sore and achy, way beyond sick of sitting. I am just waiting for them to serve us our hot meal so I can take a nap and hopefully knock off some of the remaining hours in my sleep. The British versions of the magazines that I bought in the Dresden airport can only hold my attention for so long. I have had a good amount of time to think of things that I noticed while living in Dresden that may or may not be unique to the area but they definitely caught my attention as something noteworthy that I wish to share with you.
1. There is a very high level of trust in people. Starbucks (which I only went to because they provided free internet) gives you real mugs and plates if you are dining there. The window in my apartment on the 17th floor of the building had no safety mechanisms on it of any sort. It was very large, about a 5’ square, and swung all the way open. It would be so unbelievably easy for someone to exit out the window. I guess German students are always happy?
2. You can get a delicious meal for less than 3 Euros on almost any street: BRATWURST
3. As I mentioned in an earlier post, German have absolutely no fashion sense. I wonder if they even know what fashion sense is.
4. Beer is cheaper than water. True story. They would rather you be drunk than hydrated. The beer gardens in the Herbsmarkt charge you a glass deposit and if you return the glass after you are done with your beer in you get a few Euros back.
5. It is not against the law to carry open alcohol containers around in public places. What freedom.
6. My mom noticed that many restaurants with outdoor seating areas had heat lamps and blankets folded over the chairs for diners to use if they get too cold. I guess Germans will eat outside until their limbs fall off from the cold.
7. Bikes are everywhere to be seen. Helmets, not so much.
8. Everyone in Germany eats ice cream all the time. (When I say everyone I really do mean everyone.)
9. There is one whole aisle (out of 6) in the supermarket devoted to chocolate and another whole aisle with sweets that do not contain chocolate. And the chocolate overflow that didn’t fit in the other aisle. The other are divided as such: One for powdered cappuccino powder, instant coffee, and cereal. One for baking goods, pasta, rice, and other cooking needs. One for canned and jarred foods. Lastly, one for beer, wine, and spirits. The walls of the store are lined with yogurts, cheeses, and meats. The produce section is a little block when you first walk in with a very sad assortment and even sadder quality. Some veggies that I bought went bad in my fridge within 2 or 3 days. So sad. I can’t wait for fresh produce.
10. Nutella and hazelnuts are everywhere. No complaints.
11. Church bells chime at the most random inexplicable hours of the day and night.
12. Even Germans that claim to know only “a little” English can carry on a conversation without much struggle. I can’t even count the words I know in German on both hands. Okay, maybe I do need to add a few toes in there. I know nothing about verbs though so that stops all complete sentences in their tracks.
13. They don’t put ice in their sodas.
14. Apples juice comes in two different forms. From red apples or from yellow/green apples. Sorry to say I did not try them to taste the difference. I can tell already that is going to be one of my big regrets in life.
15. Bees are everywhere.
16. Flies somehow appear indoors out of thin air.
17. Babies and toddlers are in abundant supply. I don’t know why but I feel like I saw several each day and that I only see one maybe two, if that, a day in America.
Well that sums it up for now. I am sure there are more but that is all I was able to whip out at this time.
I succeeded in taking a nap. 2 hours gone and just over an hour and a half until touchdown in Boston. Could this day get any longer? I have been awake for 12 hours already and have another 9 until I get home. I’m thinking another nap on the flight from Boston to Pittsburgh.

Let me know what you think.

