Pumpkin Time

It’s October now. To me, October marks the beginning of one of my most favorite aspects of fall… PUMPKIN. Pumpkin flavored anything. Cookies, muffins, bread, coffee, chocolate, soup, anything you can think of. Monday afternoon I kicked off the season by baking pumpkin muffins. It was the perfect rainy afternoon activity. It’s a simple recipe, just some pumpkin puree, flour, sugar, applesauce (instead of oil), cinnamon, nutmeg, (I added a little ginger too), baking powder, baking soda, eggs, and chocolate chips or nuts if you want them but I just left mine plain this time. Yum yum yum! Mix it all together and put it in the oven at 350 for just 20 minutes and you have yourself fall in a muffin cup. The applesauce not only makes them less caloric but I feel that it adds a more fluffy texture to the finished muffin. I enjoyed one on the spot, in addition to the raw batter that “accidentally” made its way into my mouth, put a few in a tupperware on the counter and froze the rest. That way I can enjoy them anytime of day for weeks to come. What could be better?

I will have to double check the exact measurements because I don’t have the recipe in front of me but here is what I can remember.

4 eggs
1 1/2 cups applesauce (or oil)
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp ginger
2 cups chocolate chips or chopped nuts

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix the wet ingredients together in a bowl until smooth. Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Combine the wet and dry ingredients. Grease muffin tins or use paper muffin cups and fill each one about 3/4 of the way full. Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool a few minutes in the tins then remove to a cooling rack to finish cooling.
You can enjoy one right away or wait until they are cooler. Sometimes I find that they taste better once they are cooled off completely. The spices jump out more.

A few other things I love about fall that I wish to share are these: sweaters. boots. jackets. layers. scarves. hats. gloves. colored leaves. stomping on crispy leaves on the ground.
I guess you could say fall is my season.

Let me know what you think.

