Magnificent Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last week there was a small collection of bananas getting oh-so-very ripe on my kitchen counter. There was no way I would’ve been able to eat them before they got too ripe… I had no choice but to make something with them. (Hardly a tragedy). Instead of baking a loaf of banana bread, the classic standby, I wanted to try a different route. Cookies. I did a little research on the internet and found this incredible recipe. Thanks Martha Stewart! It is to die for!!! Because I had more than one ripe banana, I doubled the recipe but that left me with an outrageous amount of cookies. I brought two overflowing plates of cookies in to work the next day and they were all gone very quickly. And received many rave reviews. I am definitely going to make these again, particularly if I am trying to impress!

Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart

makes about 3 dozen

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 c. (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. mashed ripe banana (about 1 large banana)

1 c. old-fashioned oats

8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. (about 2 oz.) chopped toasted walnuts

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. If your walnuts are not toasted, do that now. They will taste much better. Simply spread them out on a baking sheet (that you can later use for the cookies) and slide them in the oven until they start turning a nice golden brown color and produce a lovely smell. I didn’t pay exact attention to how long it took me but I’ll estimate about 10 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flours, salt, and baking soda. Set that aside.

Using a mixer, combine the softened butter and the sugars until nice and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla. Combine thoroughly, then mix in the banana. In a few batches, add the flour mixture until it is fully combined. Be careful not to over mix it though. At this point, I took the bowl off the mixer and stirred in the oats, walnuts, and chocolate chips by hand.

Spoon the dough on to the cookies sheets leaving a few inches between them because they spread out when they cook. My cookies dough balls were about an inch to an inch and a half in diameter. I think that is the perfect size for these cookies. Bake them for about 13 minutes until they have a light golden brown color and are just beginning to set. Let them cool in the pans for a minute or two before transferring them to wire racks for a complete cool down.

Since I made twice the amount as the recipe above calls for, I had enough cookies to save a few in my freezer and take the rest in to work. If you are planning on sharing, don’t feel guilty hiding a few for yourself for later. Trust me, you will be glad you did! Enjoy!! (I know you will.)

3 responses

  1. I was just browsing around for recipes to use my ripe banana sitting in the fridge! This looks tempting, and it’s fortunate I have walnuts at home too. Think I’ll give it a try, thank you! 🙂

Let me know what you think.

